About

Global Health Norway is a national arena for global health research, education and capacity strengthening in low- and middle-income countries.

What is Global Health Norway?

Global Health Norway is a network of the major Norwegian institutions in the educational, hospital and research institute sectors involved in global health activities, including research, education and capacity strengthening. Read more about the partner institutions.

The aims of the network are, among others, to

  • Facilitate high quality in global health research and education in Norway
  • Inform the public about Norwegian efforts and activities in global Health
  • Maintain an overview of global health projects and funding opportunities
  • Promote inter-regional and inter-sectoral collaboration on research proposals
  • Promote collaboration between the hospital sector, educational sector, the national research council, NGOs, the private sector and Norad

Mandate


What is global health?

Global health is defined as efforts toward "improved Health for the world population, reduced health inequalities, and solutions to cross-border and cross-sectoral health challenges. These efforts include disease prevention, robust Health systems, universal access to good health care and health security for all. (...) Global Health cannot be reduced to development cooperation. The global health agenda also includes regional and bilateral arenas, and is in no way limited to the poorest countries. (...) The complexity of the global health challenges necessitates flexibility and ability to merge perspectives from different policy areas."

Source: Norwegian government white paper no. 11 (2011–2012) "Global helse i utenriks- og utviklingspolitikken", page 8: Link. [Our translation.]


Minutes from Board Meetings

All minutes are in Norwegian

Board meeting 13 December 2019 *these minutes are not yet officially approved
Board meeting 27 August 2019
Board meeting 21 November 2018
Board Meeting 3 May 2018
Board Meeting 16 November 2017
Board Meeting 19 January 2017


Editorial policy

  • The Global Health Norway website should be the most important hub for information for Health personnel, research councils, researchers, students, policy makers and the public about global health activities in Norway.
  • All articles are published with a named author.
  • All articles should explicitly state that the views reflected are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of Global Health Norway's Board or other bodies.
  • The Head of the Secretariat is the Editor-in-Chief of the website.

Board

Björn Gustafsson

Central Norway RHA

Chair of the Board

bjorn.gustafsson@ntnu.no

Per Bakke

University of Bergen

Per.Bakke@uib.no

Geir Tollåli

Northern Norway Regional Health Authority

geir.tollali@helse-nord.no​

Henrik A. Sandbu

Central Norway Regional Health Authority

henrik.sandbu@helse-midt.no

Øystein Krüger

Southern and Eastern Norway Regional Health Authority

Oystein.Kruger@helse-sorost.no

Nina Emaus

University of Tromsø

nina.emaus@uit.no

Ivar Prydz Gladhaug

University of Oslo

i.p.gladhaug@medisin.uio.no

Bjørn Iversen

Norwegian Institute of Public Health

bjorn.iversen@fhi.no

Eli Renate Grüner

Helse Vest RHF

Forskningsdirektør

eli.renate.gruner@helse-bergen.no

Jeanette Magnus

University of Oslo

Director

j.h.magnus@medisin.uio.no

Observers

Bjørn Tore Kjellemo

Research Council of Norway

btk@forskningsradet.no

Ottar Mæstad

Chr. Michelsen Institute (CMI)

ottar.maestad@cmi.no

Randi Reinertsen

SINTEF

randi.e.reinertsen@sintef.no

Ingvar Theodor Evjen Olsen

Norad

Ingvar.Theo.Olsen@norad.no

Line Storesund Rondan

GlaxoSmithKline

line.s.rondan@gsk.com

Karen Marie Moland

Universities Norway (UHR)

karen.moland@uib.no

Secretariat

Elin Yli Dvergsdal

NTNU

elin.y.dvergsdal@ntnu.no

Kristina Jones

NTNU

kristina.jones@ntnu.no